Bright Light Bright Light – Disco Moment.

Bright Light Bright Light was one of my favourite new pop acts of 2010 after the flawless Love Part 2 was released along with a brilliant Ellie Goulding support slot and an ace tour EP.

New single Disco Moment is (I would assume) his first bells and whistles, no messing around, lets get on with getting this album out release. It’s great.

Lyrically it sits nicely alongside all my other favourite bittersweet pop moments, the key word being ‘relatability’. Describing a situation that we’ve all been in with heartfelt sincerity that doesn’t veer off into schamltzy sentiment. Extra brownie points for the lines: “Lets leave it ’til the morning I want to go home or stay out and go dance, just not this.” and “The line is breaking up, that we’re breaking up.” AMAZING.

My one criticism being it’s obvious similarity to Robyn’s Dancing On My Own, rolling drum loops ‘n’ all, though in my book that’s more of a compliment than a complaint.

Disco Moment from Bright Light Bright Light on Vimeo.

Oh and I’d like a 6 minute string laden remix from Richard X or Fred Falke please. Cheers.



Leave a Reply

