Diamonds in the rough

I’m an indie/electro boy through and through. Give me a catchy hook and some nice retro synths and I’m content. I also HATE commercial RnB with a passion and hearing Flo-Rida featuring MC Wank-Stain tell me about all the shorties they are loving in this club makes me want to gouge my brain out through my nostrils with a grappling hook. Pitbull and bloody Will.I.Am have a fucking LOT to answer for.

So yeah, I kind of have a slight Hip-Hop and RnB phobia but lately I’ve dipped my toe into their turgid waters to see if anything I come across is at all likeable, toe-tappable or, well, any good? This is what I found. (Oh and, by the way, camp as christmas, poppers o’clock dance remixes by RedOne, Guetta et al are amazing and therefore the exception to the rule. Ok?)

Janelle Monae – Cold War Emotive, lovely RnB.

Big Boi – Shutterbugg Catchy, fun Hip-Hop.

Gnarls Barkley – Who’s Gonna Save My Soul Heartfelt, modern soul.

Lupe Fiasco – Kick, Push Rap with charm and depth.

Jessie J – Do It Like A Dude Attitude and great song-writing.

Iglu & Hartley – Violent & Young Unpretentious, very early Beastie Boys.

So yeah, I think you’ll agree they’re all rather ace. Proof here readers that if you throw enough shit at a wall some of it will stick. I’m quite the wordsmith aren’t I?

(Oh and I missed out Pharrell, who is quite very good also.)



Leave a Reply

